About Us

Created in 1978, the Old Dominion EMS Alliance (ODEMSA) is charged by state law to assist in the development and implementation of an efficient and effective EMS delivery system (Code of Virginia, Section 32.1-111.11).  ODEMSA is one of 11 Regional Emergency Medical Services Councils in the Commonwealth.  The Virginia Regional EMS Councils are designated by the Virginia Board of Health.  The Old Dominion Emergency Medical Services Alliance, an integral part of Virginia’s Comprehensive Emergency Medical Services System, serves to assess, identify, coordinate, plan and implement an efficient and effective regional EMS delivery system within Planning Districts 13, 14, 15, and 19, in partnership with the Virginia Office of Emergency Medical Services and the Virginia Emergency Medical Services Advisory Board.

Region Described:
The Old Dominion EMS Alliance is defined as the 9,000-square-mile region made up of Virginia Planning Districts 13, 14, 15 and 19.  The region involves 26 hospitals, and over 100 EMS agencies. The region includes the counties of:  Amelia, Brunswick, Buckingham, Charles City, Charlotte, Chesterfield, Cumberland, Dinwiddie, Halifax, Hanover, Henrico, Goochland, Greensville, Lunenburg, Mecklenburg, New Kent, Nottoway, Powhatan, Prince Edward, Prince George, Surry, Sussex; the cities of Colonial Heights, Emporia, Hopewell, Petersburg, Richmond, and South Boston; and the towns of Ashland, Farmville, and South Hill.

Board of Directors:
The Old Dominion EMS Alliance is governed by a 15-member Board of Directors who represent the prehospital agencies, EMS providers, and acute care hospitals in the four Planning Districts.  The Board members, who are non-paid volunteers, meet quarterly in open session.  Included is a physician who serves as a Regional Medical Director (RMD).  The President of the Board is the Chief Executive Officer.  The paid Executive Director, also a board member, is ODEMSA’s Chief Operating Officer.

ODEMSA Committees and Sub-Councils:
Committees are made up of volunteer representatives of all components – hospital and out-of-hospital.  ODEMSA committees provide basic guidance to the Central Virginia EMS system.  The committees enable ODEMSA to plan, implement, coordinate and oversee an effective EMS system and regional standard of care.  Committees are appointed by the Board of Directors, meet regularly and have policies and procedures by which they operate. 

Four local EMS Sub-Councils provide grass-roots representation for EMS in the four Planning Districts – 13, 14, 15, and 19 — that comprise ODEMSA.

Standing Committees within the ODEMSA structure include:

  • Air Medical
  • Critical Incident Stress Management (CISM)
  • Hospital Diversion
  • Medical Direction
  • Mass Casualty Incident (MCI)
  • Pharmacy
  • Performance Improvement
  • Professional Development
  • STEMI Steering
  • Stroke Steering

Up ↑